Tranefare (2014)

  • Brass Ensemble
  • 2 minutes
  • “Tranefare” is a tribute to John Coltrane, built on a chord progression inspired by “Giant Steps.” The progression is extended each time through, allowing more harmonic color. Variations of timbral color are also provided by the three trumpets, one open, the other two playing with different mutes, and the horns, which alternate playing muted and open. “Tranfare” may be performed on its own, or it may function as a prelude to a performance of “Giant Steps” by a jazz combo, perhaps placed in a different part of the the performing space.
  • Score Sample
  • MIDI

De Profundis (2010/13)

  • Flute, Clarinet, Violin, and Cello
  • 3 movements – 11 minutes total
  • “De Profundis” began in 2010 as, oddly enough, a setting of Psalm 123: “Unto thee I lift up mine eyes, O thou that dwellest in the heavens.” As the work evolved, the soprano became a violin, and the music evolved into a three movement instrumental quartet combining Psalms 123 and 130 with my feelings about the sufferings of Dmitri Shostakovich, whose life has, for me, long set the benchmark against which I measure my own suffering. Above all, it is an abstract work based on feelings and not a program, and no attempt should be made to line up any part of the piece with specific events in Shostakovich’s life or my own. The listener is encouraged instead to try and hear themselves and their own sufferings in the music, and know that they are not alone.
  • MIDI

String Quartet No. 1 (2008)

  • String Quartet
  • 4 movements – 21+ minutes